Beet Tops {or Spinach} and Courgette Tartlets {lower-carb, low-fat +vegan option}


food to glow

 beet tops and courgette phyllo tartletI didn’t scare you off with the beet tops, did I? Good. It’s just that with beets coming in thick and fast (with any luck), I’ve discovered that these brilliant, long-stemmed leaves can also be put to good use. And seeing as a one-cup cooked serving offers 220% of vitamin A, 60% of vitamin C, 16% of calcium, and 15% of iron I suppose it would be churlish not to. Wouldn’t it?

I haven’t always been so aware of their value. For years I have been willy-nilly hacking off the pretty red-veined leaves and composting them. This makes for very nutritious compost, I’m sure. But a few years ago I saw something on good old, much-maligned Twitter about using beet greens with pasta and, after a few plays around, I hit upon my own really quite delectable stir-fried beet green ‘sauce.’ Well, it isn’t quite a sauce, more of a topping. I will share it very…

View original post 495 more words

Leave a Reply

